Microcement Flooring
Two things about microcement are almost never said out loud. No standard, code body or trade association defines the word at all, so what arrives on site depends entirely on whose bag it came out of. And every US installed price in circulation was published by someone selling the product: no aggregator, trade body or trade publication prices microcement, which is unusual enough to be worth knowing before you ask for a quote. Here is what the technical data sheets actually say and what the material genuinely costs.
The short version. Microcement is a thin cementitious coating, usually 1.5 to 3 mm, troweled over an existing floor in several coats and sealed. Its real advantage is that it resurfaces tile or concrete with no demolition and no joints. Its real costs are that it inherits every crack and movement in what is underneath, it cannot be patched invisibly, and the published slip rating on the sealed finish is dry-interior-only.
What microcement actually is
It is cement, a polymer or acrylic resin, fine aggregate and pigment, mixed with a liquid resin rather than with water and troweled on in coats under a millimeter thick. The resin is what lets a cementitious material survive at that thickness without a reinforcing mesh in the body of it.
The word is not defined anywhere. There is no ASTM product specification, no EN product standard, no ICC-ES evaluation report and no trade association definition. Manufacturers borrow test methods from the EN 13892 series, which belongs to the EN 13813 screed family, or from ASTM, but nothing in either system defines or classifies the product itself. The only candid account of where the term came from is on a European seller's site, which traces it to the Spanish microcemento and calls it "a general term for a decorative technique that can be made of different types of materials", with the French beton cire and the Italian micro topping as regional names for roughly the same thing.
That matters more than it sounds, because of what the US-made equivalents call themselves. ARDEX files PANDOMO K2 under CSI 09 62 00 Specialty Flooring and calls it a microtopping. Mapei calls Ultratop Loft a micro-topping. Brickform and MIRACOTE both sell theirs as Micro-Topping. If you are shopping in the United States, the product you are looking for is often not labeled microcement, and the one labeled microcement is often an import.
What it is not
- A microtopping is the same family and frequently the same product under a different name. Our concrete floor resurfacing page covers the overlay range it sits in.
- A self-leveling underlayment is a flowable leveling product, filed separately by ARDEX under CSI 03 54 13 and tested to ASTM C1708. It is poured to find its own level, not troweled to a finish. See self-leveling underlayment.
- Polished concrete is the existing slab ground and densified. Nothing is added, so nothing can delaminate. See polished concrete floors.
- Micro concrete, by one Italian maker's own distinction, goes on up to 10 mm where micro cement is 2 to 3, so the two words are not interchangeable even within one brand.
How thick it really is, and how many layers
Marketing says 2 to 3 mm. The data sheets say something broader, and the per-coat maximums vary by a factor of three.
| Product | Country | Per coat | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Topciment Microbase | Spain | "Do not apply layers thicker than 1 mm" | 1 to 3 mm |
| Topciment Microdeck | Spain | "Do not exceed 0.5 mm" | 2 to 3 mm |
| Ideal Work Microtopping | Italy | not stated | 3 mm max |
| Mapei Ultratop Loft F | USA | 1/16 in | 1/16 in (1.5 mm), "two layers minimum" |
| ARDEX PANDOMO K2 | USA | not stated | 1/16 to 3/16 in (1.5 to 4.5 mm) |
| Brickform Micro-Topping SG | USA | up to 1/16 in | not more than 3/16 in |
| MIRACOTE Micro-Topping | USA | topcoat 7 to 9 mils | about 3/32 in (2.4 mm) |
| SureCrete MicroTek | USA | 1/32 to 1/16 in | "two (or more) very thin coats" |
So the honest US answer is roughly 1/16 to 1/8 inch, 1.5 to 3 mm, in most systems, and up to 3/16 inch in one of them. Not a single figure.
The layer count is the part the thickness figure hides. Take Topciment's own published floor system: a primer, two coats of Microbase, two coats of Microdeck, then one to four coats of sealer depending on traffic and wet exposure. That is six to nine separate applications to produce a 2 to 3 mm floor. Every US system is primer-first too, and the primers are specific: Mapei specifies Primer SN with a Quartz 35 broadcast, ARDEX specifies EP 2000 epoxy with sand, Brickform specifies its 777 Bond Coat with the topping going on within two hours. Only one maker in this research claims no primer is needed, and its first coat is epoxy-based.
Consumption, if you are pricing material: Topciment's full four-coat build is 3.00 kg per square meter of powder, which is 0.279 kg or 0.61 lb per square foot, plus the resin it is mixed with. Ideal Work's full cycle is 2.75 kg/m².
What it can go over, and the moisture problem nobody flags
Concrete and cement screed, yes, fully cured. Tile, yes, with real preparation. Plywood, depends on the brand: two makers allow it with mesh and one excludes it. Radiant floor heating, yes, with the heat off for at least three days beforehand. Natural wood and parquet, no, and one manufacturer puts it bluntly: "Parquet and microcement do not get along well." Anything that moves, no.
Then there is moisture, and here the research turned up something genuinely useful. The three US-made products publish ASTM limits. No European microcement manufacturer does.
| Source | Limit | Method |
|---|---|---|
| Mapei Ultratop Loft F | below 5 lb per 1,000 sq ft per 24 hours | ASTM F1869 |
| Brickform | 5 lb per 1,000 sq ft per 24 hr; RH not to exceed 75 percent | ASTM F1869 and F2170 |
| ARDEX PANDOMO K2 | above 75 percent RH requires mitigation first | ASTM F2170 |
| Ideal Work (Italy) | "residual humidity must not exceed 4.0 percent" | percent by weight, method not named |
| ClaudiCemento | maximum 4 percent humidity | not named |
| CEMHER (Australia) | less than 5 percent moisture content | not named |
| CimentArt (Spain) | warranty void above 6 percent humidity | not named |
Those numbers are not convertible into each other. No published conversion exists between a European "percent moisture content" and an ASTM F2170 relative humidity reading or an F1869 vapor emission rate. A US homeowner holding an RH probe result has no way to check it against a Spanish or Italian data sheet, and the sheet's own limit is therefore unverifiable on their floor. If you are buying an imported system, ask the supplier for a limit in the units your tester produces. Our basement floor moisture page covers the testing itself.
One maker also specifies substrate strength, which none of the others do: at least 25 MPa, about 3,600 psi, with a pull-off of at least 1.0 MPa, about 145 psi.
Microcement over tile
This is the single most-asked question on the subject and the sources are consistent on four points, which is more agreement than they manage anywhere else on this page.
- Fill the grout lines flush and let them dry fully first. One supplier's prep guide gives 24 hours ahead; a UK trainer is blunter about why: "If the microcement isn't completely dry, the grout lines may ghost through."
- Abrade the glazed face. "Grind the tile face properly to create a adhesion key."
- Replace any drummy or loose tile. "Take out any which are and relay them. The surface must be completely flat."
- Add mesh if your product's data sheet calls for it, which is where the makers disagree. See below.
One trainer publishes two accepted routes over tile: grout-fill plus mesh plus primer, or an epoxy coat with mesh and a sand blind over the whole floor.
And here is the gap worth knowing about given how many people search for this. No manufacturer in this research publishes a pull-off bond test result, a moisture limit or a warranty specifically for microcement over glazed porcelain. The method is widely sold and the adhesion over the one substrate people most want to cover is undocumented.
The mesh disagreement, which is the crack-control layer
Microcement at 2 mm has no structural capacity. Whatever controls cracking has to be in the primer layer or in a mesh. Six makers take five positions:
| Manufacturer | Position |
|---|---|
| Topciment | Flexible fiber mesh required on all floors |
| Ideal Work | 80 to 100 g/m² fiberglass mesh, over ceramic only |
| ClaudiCemento | Required over plywood and board, explicitly not over tile or concrete |
| Stucco Italiano | Merely "advisable" on tile floors where cracks are visible |
| Mapei, ARDEX, Brickform | No mesh at all. Epoxy primer plus a sand broadcast instead |
No standard resolves this, because there is no standard. A UK installer blames missing mesh in the primer layer for most hairline cracking he sees, though the share he puts on it is his own figure and is not supported by anything published. The practical consequence is simple: follow the data sheet for the exact product you bought, because the next brand's instructions are not interchangeable with it.
Cracks and joints: the one rule everyone agrees on
Carry existing joints and moving cracks through the finish. Never cover them.
ARDEX asks for dormant cracks greater than 1/32 inch to be prefilled and states that the product "should not be installed over any joints or moving cracks". A second supplier requires cracks wider than 3 mm to be stitched with helix bars, says plainly that "Microne is not designed to fill cracks as it is a thin product", and specifies a threshold detail where the microcement meets an existing joint.
You will also see a claim that no expansion joints are needed up to 40 or 50 square meters. That is the only published unjointed-area figure anywhere in this research and nothing supports it. Do not reach for concrete slab joint spacing either: the 30-times-thickness rules are for a slab carrying load, not a 2 mm coating bonded to one.
The performance numbers, and why you cannot rank them
European makers publish to EN methods, US makers to ASTM, and the two sets are not comparable.
EN, Topciment: Microbase compression at or above 50 N/mm² at 28 days, which is 7,252 psi, flexural at or above 10 N/mm², adhesion at or above 1.5 N/mm² to EN 13892-8, fire class BFL s1. ASTM, US products: Mapei gives above 4,000 psi to a modified ASTM C109 and above 1,450 psi to C348, with ASTM D4060 abrasion under 0.5 g on the sealed system. ARDEX gives about 4,600 psi to modified C109, noted air cure only. MIRACOTE gives ASTM C882 adhesion of 515 psi and C579 compressive of 2,440 psi, plus ASTM E84 flame spread 4 and smoke 0.
The trap is the compressive number. Topciment's 50 MPa on EN 13892-2 prisms, ARDEX's 4,600 psi on a modified ASTM C109 and MIRACOTE's 2,440 psi on ASTM C579, a chemical-resistant mortar method, are three different tests on three different specimen types. They cannot be put in order, and "microcement at 50 MPa versus concrete at 25 MPa" is not a valid comparison however often you see it.
There is also an abrasion gap. Topciment publishes a Taber result of 80 mg and an EN 13892-4 class for its sealers only, nothing for the microcement layers themselves. Mapei's ASTM D4060 figure is the only abrasion number in this research for a floor system as a whole, and it is one of the US micro-toppings.
Slip resistance, where the one published figure is a warning
Only one manufacturer in this research publishes a slip result for the sealed finish, and it is modest: Rd = 25, Class 1, to EN 12633. Per a Spanish test laboratory's published explanation of that classification, Class 1 spans 15 < Rd ≤ 35 and is the dry-interior-only class; a wet interior needs Class 2 and a pool deck or exterior needs Class 3. On that result, sealed microcement as tested would not satisfy the Spanish requirement for a bathroom, a kitchen or an entry floor. A second maker publishes DIN 51130 R10, the second-lowest of five ratings, pointing the same way.
Two things follow. No microcement manufacturer publishes an ANSI A326.3 DCOF result, which is the number a US specifier asks for, so there is nothing to compare against a tile. And at least one distributor's marketing claims a "C3 Certificate (the highest level of slip resistance)" with no test report behind it, which directly contradicts the only published figure anyone in the category has produced. Ask for the test report.
What microcement costs
Material, derived from published prices and published coverage
| Product | Price | Coverage | $/sq ft |
|---|---|---|---|
| SureCrete MicroTek, 40 lb bag | $99.95 | 200 to 300 sq ft per coat, two coats | $0.67 to $1.00 |
| SureCrete MicroTek, 20 lb pail | $99.95 | 100 to 150 sq ft per coat, two coats | $1.33 to $2.00 |
| Duraamen Skraffino kit, 250 sq ft | $549.95 | 250 sq ft | $2.20 |
| Duraamen Skraffino kit, 1,000 sq ft | $1,749.95 | 1,000 sq ft | $1.75 |
| SILK PLASTER complete kit | $1,499.00 | "up to approximately 250 sq ft" | $6.00 |
| Smartcret DIY kits (UK) | £26 to £43 per m² | complete kit | $3.20 to $5.29 |
Two notes on that table. The SureCrete bag and pail are the same price for half the material, which doubles the cost per square foot if you buy the small one. And the Duraamen page states four per-square-foot figures of its own, two of which do not match its own prices, so the kit prices above are divided rather than quoted. UK figures are converted at 1 GBP = $1.3250 and are a British price, not a US one.
The strongest conclusion the material prices support: a complete package, primer through sealer, lands around $3 to $6 per square foot, corroborated independently by a UK kit range and a US kit. Bare US micro-topping powder on its own is under a dollar. A single material figure for "microcement" cannot honestly be stated, because the products are not the same scope.
Installed, and every figure is a seller's
| Source | Installed price |
|---|---|
| Florida distributor | "starts at around $14-15/sq ft" for floors |
| Seattle supplier and installer | $14 to $30/sq ft, "average cost being $15" |
| US seller | "$30 to $75+ per square foot, installed" |
| UK installer | £120 to £200/m², about $14.77 to $24.62/sq ft |
| Polish seller | €65 to €88/m², about $6.88 to $9.32/sq ft |
Three US sellers, three answers for the same product, a five-fold spread. And unusually, there is nothing to cross-check them against: no aggregator publishes a microcement cost page at all, and no trade body or trade publication prices it. Compare that with polished concrete and overlays, which at least have trade-press pricing, or epoxy and vinyl, which have aggregator pricing. For microcement the only numbers in existence belong to people selling it.
The mobilization charge, which is the useful uncovered fact
Two US sellers quote $3,500 to $4,000 "for smaller jobs" in near-identical wording, so treat it as one claim rather than two. Nobody states the arithmetic, so here it is: $3,500 of mobilization alone is $17.50 per square foot on a 200 sq ft room, $7.00 on 500 sq ft and $3.50 on 1,000. On a small floor that charge can exceed the entire per-foot rate being advertised. If you are microcementing one bathroom-sized area, this is the number that decides the quote, and it is the number nobody prints.
About the "$14 to $30 per square foot" figure
We used to repeat it, so it is worth saying what it is. It comes from one Seattle supplier's blog, which states "Microcement costs anywhere between $14 and $30 per square foot, with the average cost being $15 per square foot" and then disclaims it itself: "the prices presented are based on research that was available at the time of writing. These are only estimates." No source is cited. It is one seller's estimate of its own market, not a market rate, and the honest way to use it is alongside the other sellers' numbers and the derived material floor, which is what the tables above do.
For a plain concrete finish instead, concrete floor cost prices the alternatives with the same method.
How long it lasts, and what goes wrong
Nobody independent publishes a service life. Every lifespan figure found in this research came from a seller or an installer. No trade body, no field study, no durability classification, no reserve-study table. Topciment, the most thoroughly documented brand in the category, publishes none: "very durable", "highly resistant", no years. The most honest statement anyone makes is a seller's refusal to give one: "There is no single number, microcement is a layered system, and each layer ages on its own clock." So we are not going to publish a range either.
The failure modes are better documented, partly because one manufacturer is candid about them. Topciment states that "not all microcements guarantee no cracking, only high-performance ones do", that installation "must be carried out by a professional applicator", and that repairs should be done "in large areas so that the contrast is not too noticeable". Add the installer-documented list:
- Hairline cracking under 0.3 mm, attributed to missing mesh in the primer layer or to movement in the substrate telegraphing upward
- Debonding, where the coating "lifts from the wall or floor in sheets", attributed to the wrong primer for the substrate or no primer at all
- Sealer problems: chalking, lifting, yellowing or ambering, from the wrong sealer for the conditions
- Color blotching from re-tempering the mix, and a sticky cure
- Efflorescence at the perimeter where damp is rising or penetrating
Note how many of those are installation errors rather than material defects. That is the argument for a trained applicator, and it is also the argument for reading the warranty.
The warranty
Topciment offers "up to 10 years", and then: "The warranty only covers the replacement of the defective product, not the labour", and it excludes cracking of the substrate. On a job where labor is the large majority of the price, that covers a small fraction of your exposure, and it excludes the most likely failure. A Spanish distributor offers one year while claiming its microcement "never cracks", excludes structural movement, capillary humidity, substrates above 6 percent humidity and "substrate preparation failures", and states that it "is a distributor, not an applicator". No US-domiciled microcement warranty was found at all, including for the three best-documented US products.
Maintenance, and the repair question
No manufacturer publishes a resealing interval in years. The only numeric figure found, every two to three years in high traffic, is an Australian installer's blog, so do not attribute it to a maker. The manufacturers' own position is condition-based: reseal "periodically, depending on the intensity of use", with a dull finish, darkening when wet and new staining as the triggers.
The only published prohibited-cleaner list in this research names "caustic agents, abrasive cleaners or magic sponges", and adds not leaving spilled water or other liquids standing. Notably nobody names bleach, ammonia, vinegar, acidic cleaners or steam mops, which is a gap given how commonly those are used on floors. See cleaning a concrete floor for what is safe on the sealer families involved.
On repair, the sources agree and the answer is two-sided. Spot-patching the microcement is not realistic: a UK trainer states it is "notoriously difficult to patch, and almost impossible to do seamlessly", that color matching "isn't guaranteed due to natural mineral variation between batches", and that you should not expect a seamless repair. Topciment's own advice to repair in large areas says the same thing from the other direction. But the sealer is a genuine sacrificial wear layer, recoatable across the whole floor "with no demolition and no seams". So the correct expectation is that a whole-floor recoat is routine maintenance and a local patch is a visible scar.
Microcement against the alternatives
For a floor, a US homeowner is really choosing between this, polishing the slab they already have, an overlay, a coating, or tearing it out for tile or vinyl. Note the source classes, because they are not equal.
| Floor | Installed $/sq ft | Best source class available |
|---|---|---|
| Stained concrete | $3 to $11 | Trade press |
| Polished concrete | $4 to $20+ | Trade press |
| Overlay or microtopping | $4 to $15 | Trade press |
| Epoxy coating | $4 to $10 | Aggregator |
| Luxury vinyl plank | $4 to $16 | Aggregator |
| Tile | $10 to $50 | Aggregator |
| Microcement | $14 to $75+ | Sellers only |
The case for it is narrow and real. It resurfaces existing tile or concrete at 1.5 to 3 mm with no demolition, no disposal and no joint lines, and avoiding a tear-out is worth real money: pulling existing tile alone runs $2 to $7 per square foot. If you want a seamless monolithic look over a floor you cannot grind, nothing else does that.
The case against it is specific. It inherits every crack and every bit of movement underneath. It cannot be patched invisibly. Its only published slip rating is dry-interior-only. It has no US code approval and no published service life. And the pool of people who install it well is the thinnest in the comparison. Polished concrete and tile beat it on all five of those.
Can you DIY it, and what is actually sold in the US
You can buy it today with no credential: a US micro-topping bag at $99.95, kits from $549.95 to $1,749.95, a complete imported kit at $1,499. One consumer brand advertises exactly that, "no licence, no trade account, no proof you work in the industry", though its own site said it ships late 2026 with no prices shown.
The makers are mostly against it. Topciment: installation "must be carried out by a professional applicator", and its training is "reserved exclusively for professionals in the construction sector". One US retailer selling direct to consumers still writes that "professional installation or microcement training is strongly recommended, especially for floors". Given that most of the failure modes above are installation errors, that is consistent rather than cynical. If you are weighing it up, our take on DIY shortcuts in concrete applies here too: the cheap part is the material.
Genuinely US-sold with US technical data: Mapei Ultratop Loft, ARDEX PANDOMO K2, Brickform, MIRACOTE, SureCrete MicroTek, Duraamen, SILK PLASTER US. Several European brands have US-facing websites without US distribution, and one deserves a flag: a Spanish manufacturer's Atlanta landing page claims it is a "leaders in the manufacturing of microcement in the United States" while giving a Valencia address and phone, and its own US-domain distributor page lists no US distributors at all. Read those pages as applicator-referral landing pages, not as evidence of a US supply chain.
On certification, there is none. No third-party scheme and no industry installation standard exists for microcement installers. Every "certified" or "approved applicator" claim traces back to the company selling the material. Compare tile, which has an independent installer certification program plus ANSI installation standards, or concrete polishing, which has an established trade structure. That absence is the strongest practical reason to judge a microcement installer on finished floors you can go and stand on.
Sources
- Topciment Microbase technical data sheet - composition, the 1 mm per-layer cap and 1 to 3 mm total, consumption, mesh required on all floors, EN 13892-2 and 13892-8 results, fire class. Spain.
- Topciment Microdeck technical data sheet - the 0.5 mm per-coat cap, the two-plus-two coat system, and the EN 12633 Rd = 25 Class 1 slip result.
- Applus Laboratories on slip resistance testing - the EN 12633 class ranges and the locations each class is required for, which is what makes Class 1 a dry-interior rating. Spain.
- ARDEX PANDOMO K2 technical data - 1/16 to 3/16 in, epoxy primer with sand broadcast, CSP 3, ASTM F2170 at 75 percent RH, prefilling dormant cracks over 1/32 in, and the instruction not to install over joints or moving cracks. USA.
- Mapei Ultratop Loft F technical data sheet - 1/16 in in two layers minimum, Primer SN with quartz broadcast, ASTM F1869 below 5 lb, and the ASTM C109, C348 and D4060 results. USA.
- Brickform Micro-Topping technical information sheet - composition by percentage, per-coat and total limits, the bond coat window, and both ASTM moisture limits. USA.
- Ideal Work Microtopping technical sheet - 3 mm maximum, consumption, the 25 MPa substrate strength and 1.0 MPa pull-off requirements, the 4 percent residual humidity limit, and mesh over ceramic. Italy.
- ClaudiCemento substrate preparation table - the per-substrate prep requirements, the 4 percent humidity limit, mesh over board but not over tile, and underfloor heating off three days ahead.
- CEMHER Microdur substrate guide - over-tile preparation, grout lines filled 24 hours ahead, grinding the tile face, helix stitching for cracks over 3 mm, and the threshold detail at existing joints. Australia.
- Relentless Microcement on touching up microcement - that patching is "almost impossible to do seamlessly" and color matching is not guaranteed between batches. UK trainer, so a seller, but the most specific account of repairability anywhere.
- Topciment's published guarantee - the 10 year term, that it covers replacement of product and not labor, and that it excludes cracking of the substrate. Spain.
- SureCrete MicroTek listing - the $99.95 price on both the 40 lb bag and the 20 lb pail, with coverage per coat for each, which is where the derived material cost comes from. USA.
- Duraamen microtopping floor kit prices - the four kit sizes and prices used in the derivation. Note two of its own stated per-square-foot figures do not match its own prices. USA.
- The "$14 to $30 per square foot" claim - a Seattle supplier's blog, including its own disclaimer that the figures are estimates, and the $3,500 to $4,000 mobilization charge. Seller, cited here because it is the source everyone repeats.
- Atria on how long microcement lasts - "there is no single number" and the description of the topcoat as the sacrificial, renewable layer. Seller, quoted for the refusal rather than for a figure.
Frequently asked questions
What is microcement?
A thin cementitious coating: cement, a polymer or acrylic resin, fine aggregate and pigment, troweled over an existing floor in coats under a millimeter thick and then sealed. No standard or trade body defines the word, so what it means in practice depends on the brand. Several US makers sell the same kind of product as a micro-topping instead.
How thick is a microcement floor?
Roughly 1/16 to 1/8 inch, 1.5 to 3 mm, in most systems, and up to 3/16 inch in one US product. Per-coat maximums published by manufacturers span 0.5 mm to 1.5 mm, a threefold range. A complete floor is usually six to nine applications once the primer and the sealer coats are counted.
Can microcement go over tile?
Yes, and the sources agree on the preparation: fill the grout lines flush and let them dry at least 24 hours or they ghost through, abrade the glazed face to create a key, replace any loose or drummy tile, and add mesh if your product's data sheet calls for it. No manufacturer publishes a bond test result for microcement over glazed porcelain, which is worth knowing before you commit.
How much does microcement flooring cost?
Material for a complete package derives to about $3 to $6 per square foot from published kit prices and coverage, with bare US micro-topping powder under a dollar. Installed, three US sellers publish $14 to $15, $14 to $30 and $30 to $75 or more, and no aggregator or trade body prices it at all. Watch for the mobilization charge: $3,500 is $17.50 per square foot on a 200 square foot room.
How long does a microcement floor last?
Nobody independent publishes a figure. Every lifespan number in circulation comes from a seller or an installer, and the best-documented manufacturer publishes none at all. What is documented is that the sealer is a renewable wear layer that can be recoated across the whole floor, while the microcement itself cannot be patched invisibly.
Is microcement a DIY job?
You can buy it in the US without any credential, and kits start around $550. Most manufacturers advise against it: one states that installation must be carried out by a professional applicator, and even a retailer selling direct to consumers recommends training for floors. Most of the documented failure modes are installation errors rather than material defects.