Concrete Floor Coatings and What They Cost

There is one number on a can of floor coating that tells you how much floor you are actually buying, and it is the coverage rate. A product that covers 500 square feet per gallon is laying a film a third as thick as one that covers 160, and most of what the cheap one lays evaporates. That single piece of arithmetic explains the price range, the failure rate and most of the arguments about epoxy, so this page starts there and prices everything from published data sheets rather than from cost guides.

This is the coatings spoke of our concrete floor guide. For a ground and densified slab with nothing on top, see polished concrete; for the cheapest refresh, floor paint; for a troweled cementitious finish instead of a film, microcement.

Coverage is thickness, inverted

A US gallon is 231 cubic inches. Spread one mil thick, that is 1,604 square feet per gallon, and that constant is the whole basis of coating arithmetic:

Wet film = 1,604 ÷ coverage in sq ft per gallon. Dry film = wet film × solids by volume. Everything that is not solids leaves.

You do not have to take our word for it, because one data sheet publishes both halves and proves it. Behr's 1-part epoxy floor paint states 32 percent solids by volume and gives two spread rates with their films: at 500 sq ft per gallon it publishes 3.2 mils wet and 1.0 mil dry; at 300 sq ft per gallon, 5.3 wet and 1.6 dry. Run the constant: 1,604 ÷ 500 = 3.21 wet, times 0.32 = 1.03 mils dry. 1,604 ÷ 300 = 5.35 wet, times 0.32 = 1.71 dry. Both match the sheet.

Published solids by volume and dry film per coat
ProductSolids by volumeDry film per coatCoverage
Behr 1-part epoxy floor paint32 percent1.0 to 1.6 mils300 to 500 sq ft/gal
Rust-Oleum EpoxyShield basement32.3 to 35.0 percent3.0 to 3.5 mils150 to 200 sq ft/gal
Sherwin-Williams ArmorSeal 810041 percent2.0 to 5.0 mils130 to 320 sq ft/gal
Rust-Oleum EpoxyShield garage kit52.6 to 52.8 percent3.0 to 3.5 milsabout 250 sq ft/kit
Sherwin-Williams ArmorSeal 1000 HS65 percent3.0 to 5.0 mils206 to 350 sq ft/gal
Simiron polyaspartic HS90 to 93 percent9.2 to 14.7 (derived)100 to 160 sq ft/gal
Rust-Oleum RockSolid polycuramine96 percent4.3 to 5.4 (derived)200 to 250 sq ft/kit
ArmorPoxy 100 percent solids100 percent9.4 to 14.0 (derived)115 to 170 sq ft/gal
Tnemec Epoxoline FC22100 percent16 to 40 mils, one coat40 to 100 sq ft/gal

Put the extremes next to each other, using only each product's own published figures. One coat of the industrial product at its thickest is about 39 times the dry film of one coat of 1-part paint at its thinnest. One coat of 100 percent solids epoxy is roughly 4.6 times two coats of 1-part paint, and 3 times the Rust-Oleum garage kit at its labeled coverage. No number of coats of a 32 percent product is the same thing as one coat of a 100 percent one.

The coating families, with their published numbers

Coating types by what the data sheets publish
CoatingTypical dry filmReturn to servicePublished ASTM data?
1-part "epoxy" paint1.0 to 1.6 mils per coatFoot 12 to 24 hrNone
Water-based 2-part kit3.0 to 3.5 milsFoot 24 hr, vehicles 3 daysNone
96 percent solids DIY kit4.3 to 5.4 mils (derived)Tack free 8 to 10 hr, vehicles 24 to 36 hrNone
100 percent solids epoxy8 to 14 milsVaries, up to a week for vehiclesAdhesion, compressive, tensile
Polyaspartic (an aliphatic polyurea)9 to 15 milsTack free 2 to 4 hr, vehicles 48 hrAbrasion 30 mg, adhesion over 500 psi
Industrial epoxy, one coat16 to 40 milsPer data sheetYes, plus moisture limits
Acrylic sealerNot publishedFoot 4 hrNone

That fourth column is the finding, and it is uncomfortable. Every DIY consumer kit in this research publishes zero ASTM performance data: no adhesion, no abrasion, no hardness. Behr, both Rust-Oleum lines and the Quikrete kit publish none, and neither do Sherwin-Williams' two contractor product data sheets. Every product that publishes an ASTM D4541 pull-off value or an ASTM D4060 Taber abrasion result is sold to contractors or industrially. The two abrasion figures that are internally plausible are both 30 mg, from two different polyaspartic makers, which is a usefully consistent pair.

A practical note on polyaspartic: it is tough and holds color in sunlight where epoxy ambers, and it can be back in service in two to four hours. The flip side is working time. Fast cure is a gift to a one-day professional install and a problem for a first-timer with a roller.

Polyurea and polyaspartic are the same answer to a different question

Garage coating companies sell both names, often on the same page and sometimes as though they were competing products. They are not. Corrosionpedia describes polyaspartics as "materials that are considered to be a subset of polyureas", noting that "the term is usually used to refer to aliphatic polyureas". The coatings chemistry supplier Pflaumer Brothers puts it without hedging in An Introduction to Polyaspartic Coatings: "Polyaspartic is a type of polyurea (actually a polyaspartic aliphatic polyurea)".

So the question is not which of the two is better. It is which polyurea you are being sold, and the answer is almost always a polyaspartic, for a reason that comes down to how long the stuff stays liquid.

A conventional polyurea reacts almost instantly. Pflaumer calls these "rapid-cure conventional polyureas", and that speed is why they are sprayed with plural-component equipment that mixes the two parts at the gun rather than in a bucket. Nobody rolls one onto a garage floor. Polyaspartic chemistry exists to slow that reaction down to something a person can work with: the same article puts the modern working window at "(20-30 minutes) for application by conventional methods like brushing or rolling", against the 10 to 20 minutes earlier formulations allowed.

Two things follow when you are reading a quote. First, a residential garage floor advertised as a "polyurea coating" or a "polyurea garage floor" is, in practice, a polyaspartic system, and comparing one company's "polyurea" against another's "polyaspartic" is usually comparing two names for the same chemistry. Ask instead what the data sheet publishes, which the table above shows is the real dividing line. Second, that 20 to 30 minute window is the honest reason this family is harder to do yourself than epoxy. It is not a difficulty rating invented to sell installation. It is the pot life.

What a floor coating costs

Material, derived from published price and published coverage

Coating material cost per square foot, one coat
ProductPack and priceCoverage$/sq ftDry film
Behr 1-part epoxy1 gal, $47.98500 sq ft$0.0961.0 mil
Behr 1-part epoxy5 gal, $229.002,500 sq ft$0.0921.0 mil
Rust-Oleum EpoxyShield kit240 oz, $185.00500 sq ft$0.373.17 mils
Rust-Oleum EpoxyShield kit120 oz, $129.00250 sq ft$0.523.0 to 3.5
Rust-Oleum RockSolid180 oz, $249.99400 to 500 sq ft$0.50 to $0.624.3 to 5.4
ArmorPoxy 100 percent solids3 gal kit, $699.00600 sq ft on the label$1.178.02 mils
ArmorPoxy 100 percent solids3 gal kit, $699.00345 to 510 per the data sheet$1.37 to $2.039.4 to 14.0
ArmorPoxy polyaspartic kit1 kit, $989.00300 to 500 sq ft$1.98 to $3.30not published
Moisture mitigation epoxy3 gal kit, $259.88300 sq ft at 17 mils$0.8717 mils

Full manufacturer-specified systems on a 500 square foot basis: Behr at two coats is $0.19 per square foot; the Rust-Oleum kit plus the two clear topcoat kits its own product page recommends is $1.11; the ArmorPoxy kit at its data sheet's mid coverage is $1.63.

A supplier independently publishes installed-job materials at $0.37 to $1.40 per square foot across all epoxy types. Our figures, derived from retail prices and data sheets by a completely different route, land in exactly that band. Two unrelated methods agreeing is worth something on a subject where nothing else does.

Cost per mil, which does not say what you expect

Divide the cost per square foot by the dry film it delivers and the cheap product wins:

Material cost per mil of dry film, per square foot
Product$/sq ftDry film$ per mil per sq ft
Behr 1-part epoxy$0.0961.03 mils$0.093
Rust-Oleum RockSolid$0.504.34 mils$0.115
Rust-Oleum EpoxyShield kit$0.373.17 mils$0.117
ArmorPoxy 100 percent solids$1.379.44 mils$0.145

So the usual argument, that cheap kits are bad value, is not what the arithmetic says. Per mil delivered, 1-part paint is the cheapest coating on the market. The reason to reject it for a garage is not value, it is ceiling: 1.0 to 1.6 mils per coat is all it can ever do, and you cannot roll your way to 10 mils with a 32 percent solids product.

Installed, and who is publishing the numbers

Published installed prices by system
System$/sq ft installedSource class
Sealer or paint$1 to $4Aggregator
Solid-color epoxy$3 to $7Contractor
Epoxy, generic$2 to $15 across six sourcesAggregator and contractor
Flake or chip broadcast$7 to $10Contractor
Quartz broadcast$9 to $12Contractor
Metallic epoxy$9 to $12, "not recommended for garages"Contractor
Polyaspartic$5 to $12Aggregator and contractor
Grind and seal$2.50 to $5.25Contractor

Here is the part worth knowing before you weigh any of those. We went looking for one installed price that was not published by someone with a commercial interest, and there is none. Of the six non-aggregator sources above, five are contractors selling the installation and one is a materials supplier. No trade publication prints an installed figure. And the one price class that should exist, public procurement, does not: a Maine municipal bid published a scope of "Approximately 7,911 SQFt" of epoxy with no award prices, a New Hampshire town published a 678 square foot airport terminal scope with no prices, and a university bid tab published epoxy floor repair bids of $9,450 to $21,000 with no quantity at all. Quantities without prices, or prices without quantities, every time.

Prep, which is where the installed price actually goes

Published surface preparation prices
Operation$/sq ft
Cleaning and scrubbing only$0.10 to $0.30
Diamond grinding$0.75 to $1.50
Shot blasting$0.50 to $1.00
Scarifying$1 to $3
Removing an existing coating$1 to $3
Carpet or VCT and glue removal$1 to $2

Note the scale against the material table: on a sound bare slab, grinding alone costs two to four times the material for the Rust-Oleum kit that goes on top of it. And one aggregator quotes surface prep as a flat "$50 to $100", which on its own 500 square foot two-car garage is 10 to 20 cents a square foot, below every contractor figure and below the cost of the acid.

Size your floor first with the concrete floor calculator, then see concrete floor cost for how a coating compares with polishing, staining and tile.

The prep the data sheets actually require

Coating manufacturers do not say "clean and etch". They specify a surface profile against ICRI Technical Guideline 310.2R, which defines concrete surface profiles CSP 1 through CSP 10 and tabulates which preparation method produces which. What the sheets ask for:

  • CSP 1 to 3: Sherwin-Williams ArmorSeal 8100 and 1000 HS
  • CSP 2 to 3: PPG self-leveling epoxy
  • CSP 3: KreteTek Epoxy Max 100 and Polyaspartic 980
  • CSP 3 or 4: a moisture mitigation epoxy, and a published guide specification
  • CSP 5 minimum: Tnemec Epoxoline FC22

Now compare what the consumer kits ask for. Quikrete ships an acid cleaner and etcher in the box. Rust-Oleum's own sheet specifies "cleaning, degreasing, and etching". Acid etching and a mechanically produced CSP 3 to 5 are not the same preparation and no bottle of acid closes that gap. Rust-Oleum concedes the point itself in one place: where a floor is already sealed, its sheet says removal requires "grinding or shot blasting".

Concrete age is unanimous enough to plan around: 28 days for the contractor-grade products, 30 days for the consumer kits. One published guide spec also requires a minimum 3,500 psi slab.

No national equipment rental company publishes a rate, which is worth knowing if you are costing a DIY grind: United Rentals, Sunbelt and Home Depot's tool rental all withhold pricing on their own product pages. One regional US rate found with full units puts a 10 inch grinder at $72.56 for four hours, $100 a day, $500 a week.

Moisture, and the asymmetry between what the two price classes ask of you

Three standards govern this and their exact scope matters:

  • ASTM F1869 measures the moisture vapor emission rate of a bare slab with anhydrous calcium chloride, reported in pounds per 1,000 square feet per 24 hours.
  • ASTM F2170 measures relative humidity inside the slab with in-situ probes.
  • ASTM D4263 is the plastic sheet method, and it is a Practice, not a test method: it was reclassified in the 2024 revision, and its own wording is to "indicate the presence" of capillary moisture. It returns dark or not dark. It does not return a number.
Published moisture limits for floor coatings
ProductASTM F1869 limitASTM F2170 limit
Tnemec Epoxoline FC223 lb per 1,000 sq ft per 24 hr80 percent RH
PPG self-leveling epoxy3 lb or lessnot stated
Simiron polyaspartic HS3 lb75 percent RH
A published guide specification3 lb75 percent RH
KreteTek Epoxy Max 100below 3 lbnot stated; 6 percent moisture content
Sherwin-Williams ArmorSealnames ASTM F1869, publishes no numbernone

Four of five that give a figure give 3 pounds. The relative humidity limit splits 75 against 80, a five point spread that decides whether a given slab passes.

And here is the asymmetry. The DIY kits ask for the plastic sheet: "taping a piece of 4 mil plastic sheet 18x18 inches on the bare concrete for 24 hours", then ten to fourteen days more drying if it darkens. Not one consumer kit data sheet mentions ASTM F1869, a pound figure, or ASTM F2170. The Rust-Oleum water-based garage kit sheet contains no moisture test at all, not even the plastic sheet one. So a homeowner is asked to run a qualitative check that returns a yes or a no, while the products a contractor uses require a measurement against a 3 pound threshold. After film thickness, that is the biggest substantive difference between the two price classes.

If a slab fails, mitigation is a real line item: a 100 percent solids moisture vapor barrier epoxy rated to control up to 20 lb per 1,000 sq ft per 24 hours derives to $0.87 per square foot of material at one 17 mil coat, which is 2.3 times the material cost of the entire Rust-Oleum kit, and it goes on underneath it. A 500 square foot garage that fails needs two kits, $519.76, before any coating is bought. Installed, a contractor publishes $1 to $3 per square foot for the same work. Our under-slab vapor barrier page covers why the slab is passing moisture in the first place.

Doing it yourself, in order

Most of the work is preparation, and every failure story starts with a step skipped.

  1. Clear and vacuum. Dust is a bond breaker.
  2. Degrease. Old oil bleeds through a coating. Scrub it out with a concrete degreaser before anything else.
  3. Repair cracks and spalls and let the patch cure. A coating telegraphs every low spot and will not bridge a moving crack.
  4. Test for moisture, and know which test you ran. The plastic sheet test tells you whether there is obvious capillary moisture. It does not give you a number against the 3 pound threshold the industrial products use, so if the slab is on grade with no vapor retarder and you are about to spend real money, pay for a calcium chloride or in-situ RH test instead.
  5. Profile the slab. Acid etching is the consumer kit method. Diamond grinding is what the contractor-grade sheets require, as a CSP 3 to 5. If the floor has ever been sealed, etching will not work and the manufacturer says so.
  6. Mix exactly and watch the pot life. Cut in the edges, then roll the field toward your exit. Once it kicks in the bucket it is finished.
  7. Broadcast flakes into the wet coat if you want them, thrown up and out so they land flat.
  8. Topcoat. Scrape loose flakes, then roll a clear polyaspartic or polyurethane. This is the coat that takes the wear.

Hot tire pickup, and what is actually established

This is the defining garage coating failure: the film lifts in two strips exactly where the tires park. Three things are worth separating, because the marketing blurs them. The way around the whole argument is to put nothing on the surface at all, which is what a penetrating sealer does.

The mechanism has a primary source, and it is not heat cooking the coating. Euclid Chemical's technical bulletin CP-22 states that "tire marking or hot tire pickup on concrete sealers and coatings is caused by a phenomenon called plasticizer migration": the compounds that keep tire rubber flexible soften as the tire warms, leach out, and attack the film from above while the tire presses on it. What resists it, per the same bulletin, is crosslink density, and "epoxy and urethane sealers and coatings are much more crosslinked and are therefore less likely to tire mark, but it is still possible." An independent editorial source describes a second contributing mechanism, the cooling tire contracting and grabbing at the film. Our garage floor finishes page works through both, including the measured tire temperatures, which are far lower than the folklore.

There is no test for it. No ASTM, ICRI or trade association standard defines or measures hot tire pickup, and no manufacturer data sheet in this research tests or quantifies it. So when a product claims hot tire resistance, there is nothing behind the claim to check, and the two cheapest products in this research make exactly that claim in marketing while publishing no test, no temperature and no film thickness: one says "no hot tire pick-up", the other "resists peeling caused by hot tires".

What can be checked are the three properties that go with a floor that survives it, and all three are published numbers: film thickness, 8 to 40 mils against 1.0 to 3.5 for the thin products; solids by volume, 90 to 100 percent against 32 to 53; and adhesion, where a 100 percent solids epoxy publishes a 6,500 psi bond to concrete and a polyaspartic over 500 psi to ASTM D4541, while every consumer kit publishes nothing at all. A coating that lifts under a tire is usually failing at the bond, and the tire is the load that found it.

The other two failures are simpler. Peeling and delamination trace to a slick, sealed or dusty surface the film never bit into. Blistering is vapor pushing up through the slab with nowhere to go.

How long it lasts, and what the warranty actually covers

No manufacturer in this research publishes a service life for its own coating. Not Rust-Oleum, Behr, Quikrete, Sherwin-Williams, Tnemec or PPG. The best non-commercial figure found is a state housing finance agency's reserve-study table, which has no product to sell and exists so that multifamily capital reserves are funded correctly: it puts a 2-part epoxy coating on common area floors at a 10 year estimated useful life. It makes no distinction by solids content and has no garage line.

Everyone else disagrees, including with themselves. One aggregator publishes 3 to 5 years for water-based and 10 to 20 for solid epoxy on one page, and a single undifferentiated 3 to 20 years on another. A second publishes 1 to 3 years for water-based where the first says 3 to 5. That spread, 1 year to 20, is wide enough to move the annualized cost of the floor by twentyfold, which is why we prefer the one table written by somebody funding a reserve account.

The warranties, verbatim

Behr: if the product is found defective, the company will "either furnish an equivalent amount of new product or refund the original purchase price of this product". Quikrete: "Limited to the replacement of its product (as purchased) found to be defective, or at the shipping companies' option, to refund the purchase price."

So for the two DIY warranties we could read in full, labor is not covered. Maximum recovery on a 500 square foot garage is somewhere between $48 and $185, against a failed floor that took a weekend to install and will cost $1 to $3 a square foot to grind off. Neither document excludes hot tire pickup, moisture or delamination, because there is nothing to exclude: nothing beyond the contents of the can is covered in the first place.

On the installed side, no national installer or franchise publishes its warranty text at all. One franchise's own residential page refers to a "limited lifetime manufacturer warranty" and publishes no terms, no mil thickness, no coat count and no price. Every account of what franchise warranties exclude comes from a competitor describing them. One detail is worth defusing: the "moisture loophole" that these companies accuse each other of is usually a 3 pound MVER threshold, and as the table above shows, 3 pounds is the coating manufacturers' own published limit. Reproducing it in a contract is not a trick, it is the product's requirement.

Why every quote you read online is a different number

It is tempting to average the cost guides. Look at what you would be averaging.

Published epoxy garage floor cost and the garage each source assumed
SourcePage date$/sq ftIts own 2-car garage
ThumbtackJul 2026$2.75 to $3.25400 to 450, also 600 to 800
AngiAug 2026$2 to $12500
Bob VilaApr 2024$3 to $12360
This Old HouseMar 2026$3 to $12 pro360
HomeGuideFeb 2026$4 to $10400 to 576
HomeGuide, other pageDec 2024$4 to $12400 and 576
HomewyseSep 2026$8.14 to $13.23129 sq ft basis
FixrJan 2025$10 to $15about 600

Four things fall out of that table and all of them matter more than the per-foot numbers.

The assumed garage swamps the price. A "two-car garage" is 360 square feet at two sources and 600 at another, a factor of 1.67. At a flat $6 a square foot that is $2,160 against $3,600 for the identical coating. One source calls both 400 to 450 and 600 to 800 square feet a two-car garage on the same page.

The ranges do not overlap. Fixr's floor of $10 is above Thumbtack's ceiling of $3.25. Those are the same job in the same country in the same year.

They are not independent sources. Angi and HomeAdvisor are the same company and publish the same $2,526 average with different ranges around it, one 2.1 times the width of the other. This Old House states in its own methodology that its cost data comes from "Angi and HomeAdvisor". So of the sources most people treat as a consensus, at most three datasets exist.

Nobody divides by a coverage rate. Every one of them prices material by the gallon, in near-identical bands, which suggests one upstream source rather than several. A $30 to $50 per gallon figure is roughly right against Behr's $47.98, and wrong by two to five times against the $98.40 and $233.00 per gallon that Home Depot publishes for the Rust-Oleum kit and the 100 percent solids epoxy.

The useful conclusion is the method, not the number: price the material from the can's own coverage rate, price the prep separately, and treat any single dollar-per-square-foot figure as a quote rather than a fact.

Coating, polishing or painting

A coating adds a film, hides a rough slab and gives you color and chemical resistance, and it can delaminate, because it is a separate layer with a bond to maintain. Polished concrete changes the slab itself, so there is nothing to peel and almost nothing to maintain, but you get the concrete you already have and it needs a flat enough floor. Floor paint is the cheapest per mil and the thinnest in absolute terms, which is exactly the trade-off above. For a seamless troweled finish over tile or an unpolishable slab, microcement is the other option, with its own set of caveats.

Frequently asked questions

How much does it cost to epoxy a garage floor?

Published installed figures for a garage run from $2.75 to $15 per square foot depending entirely on who published them, so on a 500 square foot garage that is $1,375 to $7,500. DIY material is far clearer because it can be derived: a water-based kit with the two clear topcoats its maker recommends is about $1.11 per square foot, and a 100 percent solids kit at its label coverage is about $1.17. Grinding the slab first adds $0.75 to $1.50 per square foot if you pay someone.

What is epoxy flooring per square foot in materials?

Derived from published prices and published coverage: 1-part epoxy paint about $0.10, a water-based 2-part kit $0.37 to $0.52, a 96 percent solids DIY kit $0.50 to $0.62, a 100 percent solids epoxy $1.17 to $2.03, and a polyaspartic kit $1.98 to $3.30. A moisture mitigation epoxy underneath, if the slab needs one, is another $0.87.

How long does an epoxy floor last?

No manufacturer publishes a service life for its own coating, which is worth knowing given how confidently the figure gets quoted. The only non-commercial source found is a state housing agency reserve table, which puts a 2-part epoxy coating on common area floors at 10 years. Consumer cost guides publish anything from 1 year to 20, and two of them contradict each other on the same product.

Do I have to grind the concrete, or can I just acid etch?

Read your product data sheet, because it asks for a profile and not a method. The contractor-grade coatings specify an ICRI concrete surface profile of CSP 3 to 5, which means grinding or shot blasting. The consumer kits ship acid etcher instead. Those are not the same preparation, and if the floor has ever been sealed, Rust-Oleum's own sheet says you need grinding or shot blasting.

What is the difference between polyurea and polyaspartic?

Polyaspartic is a polyurea. Specifically it is an aliphatic polyurea, formulated so the reaction is slow enough to brush or roll, with a working window of roughly 20 to 30 minutes. Conventional polyurea cures almost instantly and is sprayed with plural-component equipment, so a residential garage floor sold as a polyurea coating is in practice a polyaspartic system. Compare published data sheets rather than the two names.

Is polyaspartic worth the extra money?

The published numbers favor it: 90 to 98 percent solids, 9 to 15 mils of dry film, an ASTM D4060 abrasion loss of 30 mg from two independent makers, and it holds color in sunlight where epoxy ambers. It is also back in service in hours rather than days. The catch is working time, which is what makes it hard to DIY.

What does a floor coating warranty actually cover?

For the two DIY warranties we could read in full, only the product. Behr offers replacement product or a refund of the purchase price; Quikrete offers replacement or refund. Labor is not covered, so maximum recovery on a failed 500 square foot garage floor is roughly $48 to $185. On the installed side, no national franchise publishes its warranty terms at all.

Why do online epoxy cost estimates disagree so much?

Partly because they assume different garages. A two-car garage is 360 square feet at two of the big cost guides and 600 at another, which moves the total by 1.67 times before anyone argues about the price per foot. Partly because they are not independent: two of them are the same company, and a third states that its figures come from the first two.